Home > news > Press Releases

Press Releases

Arkansas House Delegation Votes to End Taxpayer Funding for Abortion

f t # e
Washington, D.C., January 28, 2014 | comments

Congressmen Steve Womack (AR-3), Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), and Tom Cotton (AR-4) today joined a bipartisan group of 227 House colleagues to pass H.R. 7, the No Taxpayer Funding For Abortion Act.  This legislation enacts a permanent ban on the use of all federal dollars to fund abortions and eliminates tax credits and subsidies for Obamacare health plans that include elective abortion coverage.

“People who morally object to abortion shouldn't have to finance it," said Womack.  “I am proud to have supported this legislation as a cosponsor and with my vote.”

“I’m happy to join my colleagues in passing the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act.  Taxpayers need to know the federal government won’t spend hard-earned money supporting the abortion of unborn children,” said Crawford.  “For the past 41 years, Roe v. Wade has proven a blight on our country.  When presented with the opportunity, we must always choose life.”

“Taxpayer dollars should not be used to fund the killing of unborn babies, so I was proud to cosponsor this pro-life bill, which makes permanent several policies that have typically been passed in a piecemeal fashion year after year,” said Griffin.

“This bill is an important step toward restoring a culture of life in our country,” said Cotton.  “Unborn children are entitled to the God-given right to life and liberty enshrined in the Declaration of Independence and guaranteed in our Constitution, and federal tax dollars should not be used to support abortion in any capacity.”


f t # e

stay connected