Skip to Content

Press Releases

Womack Votes to Protect Americans from Supercharged IRS

Washington, DC—January 9, 2023….Congressman Steve Womack (AR-3), a senior member of the House Appropriations Committee and Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government (FSGG), today voted to pass the Family and Small Business Taxpayer Protection Act. The legislation rescinds the Biden Administration’s intention to supercharge the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to target middle-class families and small businesses.

Congressman Womack said, “We are delivering on the demands of the nation. Repealing the Democrat scheme to supercharge the IRS is a top priority. With historically high inflation continuing to thin paychecks, the last thing working families and small businesses need to be targeted with are ramped-up audits. Resources should be focused on serving taxpayers—not going after them. This bill is a needed step forward in ensuring agency accountability and reversing the drastic growth of government under the Biden Administration.”

Provisions of the bill include: 

  • Defunding the Biden Administration’s plan to hire 87,000 new IRS agents.
  • Blocking efforts to drastically increase audits on middle class families.
  • Preserving funding for customer service and I.T. modernization.

The Family and Small Business Taxpayer Protection Act—which is part of the Republican Commitment to America—withdraws tens of billions of dollars allocated to the IRS under previous one-party Democrat rule, while enhancing the services Americans expect to receive from their government.

A Congressional Budget Office report showed that the Biden Administration-supported IRS funding in question would lead to more audits of families making less than $400,000. Democrats voted against guardrails that would prevent the IRS from abusing middle-income earners with more audits and also had previously put forward a controversial bank account tracking scheme that targeted annual transactions as low as $600.

Congressman Steve Womack (AR-3) has represented Arkansas’s Third Congressional District since 2011. He is a member of the House Appropriations Committee.