Skip to Content

Press Releases

Womack Votes to Support Law Enforcement

Washington, DC – May 18, 2023...Congressman Steve Womack (AR-3) voted in favor of the POLICE Act, the Federal Law Enforcement Officer Service Weapon Purchase Act, and H.Con.Res.40, to support law enforcement during National Police Week. 

Congressman Womack said, “The House saluted our men and women in blue this week by passing legislation to support law enforcement officials. Our police officers are unflinching in their mission to keep Americans safe, even when faced with growing hostility and danger. It’s our duty to step in to protect those who sacrifice and serve to protect us. I’m eternally grateful for all the heroes who wear the badge.

H.R. 2494, the Protect Our Law Enforcement with Immigration Control and Enforcement (POLICE) Act, makes assaulting a law enforcement officer by an alien a deportable offense. Violence against law enforcement officers continues to rise and is perpetuated by President Biden’s border crisis. According to federal statistics, more than 43,000 law enforcement officers were assaulted in 2021 – an 11.2% increase from 2020.

H.R. 3091, Federal Law Enforcement Officer Service Weapons Purchase Act, establishes a program for federal law enforcement officers to purchase retired service weapons at salvage value, so long as the officer is in good standing with the agency. Currently, agencies are required to destroy unneeded firearms. This regulation accounts for millions of dollars of wasted federal funding.

H. Con. Res. 40 expresses support for local law enforcement officers and condemns efforts to defund or dismantle local law enforcement agencies. The anti-police rhetoric and corresponding policy shifts against law enforcement have resulted in fewer people willing to become or remain police officers. Research indicates “voluntary resignations” by police officers in 2020 increased by 279%.

The bills will now advance to the Senate for consideration. 

Congressman Steve Womack (AR-3) has represented Arkansas’s Third Congressional District since 2011. He is a member of the House Appropriations Committee.