Home > news > Press Releases

Press Releases

Womack Reintroduces Constitutional Amendment to Protect the U.S. Flag

Washington, DC—June 14, 2019....Congressman Steve Womack (AR-3), along with 14 cosponsors, today reintroduced H.J.Res.65, a joint resolution which restores Congress’s constitutional authority to ban the desecration of the United States flag. The reintroduction of the legislation coincides with Flag Day, which commemorates the adoption of the U.S. flag by the Continental Congress on June 14, 1777. Additionally, Senator Steve Daines (R-MT) introduced a companion bill in the Senate.

Congressman Womack said, “Our flag is more than a cloth painted red, white, and blue. It is a symbol of worldwide freedom, unity, and liberty. It has guided troops into battle, flown during our triumphs and challenges, and is placed over the caskets of those who have paid the ultimate sacrifice. Generations have fought to defend our stars and stripes – and the American people have simply given too much for the flag to not have the ability to protect it.”

Senator Steve Daines said, “Our United States flag is a timeless symbol of liberty that tells the story of America, the story of our enduring pursuit of freedom. Remembering the sacrifices of all who carried its colors into battle, our nation should always render the flag the honor and dignity it is due.”

Until invalidated by the 1989 U.S. Supreme Court’s decision in Texas v. Johnson, 48 states had laws banning flag desecration. H.J.Res.65 reinstates the American people’s power to protect our most important national symbol by granting Congress the authority to prohibit the physical desecration of the flag.

Members of Congress have routinely supported the passage of an amendment to allow for the ability to protect the flag. To date, a joint resolution giving Congress the power to prohibit the physical desecration of the American flag has been passed in the House several times with bipartisan support.

Original cosponsors of the legislation include Representatives Jim Banks (IN-3), Bradley Byrne (AL-1), Rick Crawford (AR-1), Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1), Mike Johnson (LA-4), Trent Kelly (MS-1), Bob Latta (OH-5), Debbie Lesko (AZ-8), Alex Mooney (WV-2), Dan Newhouse (WA-4), Pete Olson (TX-22), Steven Palazzo (MS-4), Philip Roe (TN-1), and David Rouzer (NC-7).

Text of the bill here.

Congressman Steve Womack (AR-3) has represented Arkansas’s Third Congressional District since 2011. He serves as the Ranking Member of the House Committee on the Budget and is a member of the House Appropriations defense and transportation, housing and urban development subcommittees.



stay connected